FARQ

Q:    What happens if a ball falls into the pocket as a result of settling?

According to the World Standardized Rules, 1.7 Balls Settling:

A ball may settle slightly after it appears to have stopped, possibly due to slight imperfections in the ball or the table. Unless this causes a ball to fall into a pocket, it is considered a normal hazard of play, and the ball will not be moved back. If a ball falls into a pocket as the result of such settling, it is restored as closely as possible to its original position. If a settling ball falls into a pocket during or just prior to a shot, and this has an effect on the shot, the referee will restore the position and the shot will be replayed. The shooter is not penalized for shooting while a ball is settling.

Q:  What is the rule regarding a stalemate?

      A:  According to the World Standarized Rules, 3.11 Stalemate:
        If a stalemate occurs (see 1.12 Stalemate), the original breaker of the rack will break again.

1.12 Stalemate
If the referee observes that no progress is being made towards a conclusion, he will announce his decision, and each player will have three more turns at the table. Then, if the referee determines that there is still no progress, he will declare a stalemate. If both players agree, they may accept the stalemate without taking their three additional turns. The procedure for a stalemate is specified under the rules for each game.

Q:  When a player has ball-in-hand, can the cue ball be moved with the tip of the cue stick?

A: According to the World Standardized Rules, 1.5 Cue Ball in Hand, players may use any part of the cue stick to move the cue ball, including the tip, but not with a forward stroke motion.

Q:  On the break, is it a legal break shot to break by hitting a ball beyond the     second line of balls in the rack?

A: According to the World Standardized Rules, 3.3 Break Shot
The following rules apply to the break shot:
(a) The cue ball begins in hand behind the head string.
(b) No ball is called, and the cue ball is not required to hit any particular object ball first.

Q:  Do you have to hit the object ball at an angle if it is frozen to another ball?

A:  According to the WSR, 6.7 Double Hit / Frozen Balls:  If the cue stick contacts the cue ball more than once on a shot, the shot is a foul. If the cue ball is close to but not touching an object ball and the cue tip is still on the cue ball when the cue ball contacts that object ball, the shot is a foul. If the cue ball is very close to an object ball, and the shooter barely grazes that object ball on the shot, the shot is assumed not to violate the first paragraph of this rule, even though the tip is arguably still on the cue ball when ball-ball contact is made.

However, if the cue ball is touching an object ball at the start of the shot, it is legal to shoot towards or partly into that ball (provided it is a legal target within the rules of the game) and if the object ball is moved by such a shot, it is considered to have been contacted by the cue ball. (Even though it may be legal to shoot towards such a touching or “frozen” ball, care must be taken not to violate the rules in the first paragraph if there are additional balls close by.) The cue ball is assumed not to be touching any ball unless it is declared touching by the referee or opponent. It is the shooter’s responsibility to get the declaration before the shot. Playing away from a frozen ball does not constitute having hit that ball unless specified in the rules of the game.

Q:   Is there a right or wrong way to rack the balls in 8-Ball?For example, do the balls in an 8-Ball rack have to be placed in any particular position or order?

3.2 Eight Ball Rack

The fifteen object balls are racked as tightly as possible in a triangle, with the apex ball on the foot spot and the eight ball as the first ball that is directly below the apex ball. One from each group of seven will be on the two lower corners of the triangle. The other balls are placed in the triangle without purposeful or intentional pattern.

Q:     When a player scratches on the break, and the opponent has ball-in-hand behind the head string, is it a legal shot if the players shoots a ball that is sitting directly on all or part of the head string? 

According to Rule 1.5, World Standardized Rules, an object ball that rests exactly on the head string is playable.

Q:   If you accidentally move an object ball right after you shoot your shot, is it a foul?

6.6 Touched Ball      World Standardized Rules,

It is a foul to touch, move or change the path of any object ball except by the normal ball-to-ball contacts during shots. It is a foul to touch, move or change the path of the cue ball except when it is in hand or by the normal tip-to-ball forward stroke contact of a shot. The shooter is responsible for the equipment he controls at the table, such as chalk, bridges, clothing, his hair, parts of his body, and the cue ball when it is in hand, that may be involved in such fouls. If such a foul is accidental, it is a standard foul, but if it is intentional, it is 6.16 Unsportsmanlike Conduct.

Q:  If the distance between the cue ball and the object ball is less than a piece of chalk, is it a foul to hit straight at the object ball?

According to the World Standardized Rules, 6.7 Double Hit / Frozen Balls:
If the cue stick contacts the cue ball more than once on a shot, the shot is a foul. If the cue ball is close to but not touching an object ball and the cue tip is still on the cue ball when the cue ball contacts that object ball, the shot is a foul. If the cue ball is very close to an object ball, and the shooter barely grazes that object ball on the shot, the shot is assumed not to violate the first paragraph of this rule, even though the tip is arguably still on the cue ball when ball-ball contact is made.

However, if the cue ball is touching an object ball at the start of the shot, it is legal to shoot towards or partly into that ball (provided it is a legal target within the rules of the game) and if the object ball is moved by such a shot, it is considered to have been contacted by the cue ball. (Even though it may be legal to shoot towards such a touching or “frozen” ball, care must be taken not to violate the rules in the first paragraph if there are additional balls close by.)

The cue ball is assumed not to be touching any ball unless it is declared touching by the referee or opponent. It is the shooter’s responsibility to get the declaration before the shot. Playing away from a frozen ball does not constitute having hit that ball unless specified in the rules of the game.

Q:   Under what circumstances do you spot a ball that is driven off the table?

3.7 Spotting Balls  World Standardized Rules,

If the eight ball is pocketed or driven off the table on the break, it will be spotted or the balls will be re-racked. (See 3.3 Break Shot and 1.4 Spotting Balls.) No other object ball is ever spotted.

Q:   Is it a foul or loss of game if the eight ball is driven off the table (other than the break)?

3.8 Losing the Rack
According to the World Standardized Rules, the shooter loses if he
          (a) fouls when pocketing the eight ball;
          (b) pockets the eight ball before his group is cleared;
          (c) pockets the eight ball in an uncalled pocket; or
          (d) drives the eight ball off the table.
These do not apply to the break shot. (See 3.3 Break Shot.)

Q:    If it is necessary to spot the 8-ball, and the cue ball happens to be in the way of placing the 8-ball on the spot, where does the 8-ball go?

According to the World Standardized Rules, 1.4 Spotting Balls:

Balls are spotted (returned to play on the table) by placing them on the long string (long axis of the table) as close as possible to the foot spot and between the foot spot and the foot rail, without moving any interfering ball. If the spotted ball cannot be placed on the foot spot, it should be placed in contact (if possible) with the corresponding interfering ball. However, when the cue ball is next to the spotted ball, the spotted ball should not be placed in contact with the cue ball; a small separation must be maintained. If all of the long string below the foot spot is blocked by other balls, the ball is spotted above the foot spot, and as close as possible to the foot spot.


Leave a Reply

Calendar

<< Nov 2018 >>
SMTWTFS
28 29 30 31 1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 1